PortsToronto welcomes visitors for Doors Open
On May 23, PortsToronto will welcome the public to 60 Harbour Street for the 16th annual Doors Open Toronto. Designed by Alfred H. Chapman and completed in 1918, 60 Harbour Street, previously known as the Toronto Harbour Commissioners Building, is one of the oldest buildings on Toronto’s waterfront.
Originally surrounded by water on three sides, the building featured a boardwalk and public landing for boats at the foot of its stairs. PortsToronto’s infilling of the north side of the harbour began in the early 1920s, moving the shoreline approximately 300 metres south of Harbour Street.
A prime example of Beaux-Arts Classicism, an 18th century European style inspired by classical Greek and Roman architecture, PortsToronto’s building is constructed primarily of Indiana and Queenston limestone. Visitors will be able to pass through the front entrance, notable for its marble walls and coffered ceiling, and view the main boardroom with its original walnut panelling and furnishings.
Today the building is headquarters for PortsToronto, owner and operator of Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport, which welcomes more than two million passengers each year; the Outer Harbour Marina, one of Canada’s largest freshwater marinas; and Terminals 51 and 52, which provide transportation, distribution, storage and container services to businesses at the Port of Toronto. Learn more about the rich history of PortsToronto here