September 22, 1920. Inspection by the British Board of Trade. Photograph of steam yachts CLEOPATRA, BETHALMA and SEMARAMUS and R.C.Y.C. tenders KWASIND (nearest camera) and HIAWATHA tied up at T.H.C. dock and east side of York Street Slip, in view looking north-east showing Canada St
Toronto (May 23, 2013) – Toronto Port Authority (TPA) will be welcoming the public to its head office, the Toronto Harbor Commission building, at 60 Harbour Street on Saturday, May 25 for the 14th annual Doors Open.
Doors Open is a citywide event that features more than 150 architecturally, historically, culturally and socially significant buildings across Toronto. This year’s theme is 'Creators, Makers and Innovators’.
“Toronto Port Authority and its predecessors have been a part of the waterfront and its development for more than a century,” said TPA President and CEO Geoffrey Wilson. “Doors Open provides Torontonians with an opportunity to explore and celebrate the city’s rich history and we’re looking forward to being a part of it again this year.”
Designed by Toronto architect Alfred H. Chapman, who also designed the Princes’ Gate at the Canadian National Exhibition and Sunnyside Bathing Pavilion, the Toronto Harbor Commission building has been TPA’s headquarters since 1918. When the building was completed, it sat on the water’s edge and was surrounded on three sides by Lake Ontario.
Toronto Port Authority, which marked its 102nd anniversary on May 19, will open its doors from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., with the last visitors being admitted at 4:45 p.m. Visitors will be treated to an exhibit of photographs from the Toronto Port Authority Archives and will be given a tour of the boardroom, which has been kept in its original state since the building was constructed in 1917. Knowledgeable staff, including the TPA’s archivist will be on site on the day.
The Toronto Harbor Commission building will be part of Doors Open on Toronto’s Waterfront presented by the Waterfront BIA, which will also feature tours of other waterfront staples including the Toronto Police Marine Unit, 15 ships and an historical exhibit at Queen’s Quay Terminal.
About the Toronto Port Authority (www.torontoport.com)
The Toronto Port Authority (TPA) owns and operates Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport, the Port of Toronto (Terminals 51 and 52), and Toronto's Outer Harbour Marina. In addition to moving more than two million passengers through the airport in 2012, the Port Authority provides transportation, distribution, storage and container services to businesses at the Port, and owns and operates Toronto’s largest freshwater marina. The Toronto Port Authority was incorporated on June 8, 1999 as a government business under the Canada Marine Act as the successor to the Toronto Harbour Commissioners.
– 30 –
Director, Communications and Public Affairs
Tel: (416) 863-2028 or (647) 405-8185 (mobile)